News & Events

Prof. Maureen Reed to receive Women of Distinction Award for Lifetime Achievement


Women of Distinction


Saskatoon, SK—Dr. Maureen Reed has been selected as the recipient of the Women of Distinction Award for Lifetime Achievement for 2016.

A leading researcher with the University of Saskatchewan’s School of Environment and Sustainability, Reed has established herself as an expert in how humans engage with the natural world. She is internationally recognized for her study of the social dimensions of environmental management, particularly in UNESCO biosphere reserves. Her work has connected science with community, in an effort to develop a better sense of humanity for us all.

“With this award, YWCA Saskatoon is excited to recognize Dr. Maureen Reed for her many accomplishments and her lifetime of work in building resilient, sustainable communities in our natural world. Maureen and each of our inspiring 2016 nominees are leading the way to enrich our community in many ways,” said Shannon Zook, Executive Director, YWCA Saskatoon.

This year, 55 women from Saskatoon and area, including Reed, are being nominated for the awards:

Arts, Culture & Heritage

Denyse Klette

Jeanette Lynes

Marylou Mintram

Helen Oro


Jessie Buydens

Erica Gavel

Muriel Gieni

Jordana Jacobson

Bobbi Janzen

Janis Shirriff

Community Building

Jebunessa Chapola

Heather Fenyes

Jannica Hoskins

Namarta Kochar

Maria Jane Linklater

DeeAnn Mercier

Nicole Smith

Sandra Stack

Erica Weber

Alison Whelan

Stacey White


Karen Robinson

Daphne Taras

Nancy Van Styvendale


Mackenzie Firby

Brett Francis

Chantal Hounjet

Malene Jorgensen

Christie Peters

Carolyn Schwab

Melissa Squire

Health and Wellness

Farrah Dzik

Leah Ferguson

Katelyn Roberts

Heather Thiessen

Erin Wasson

Kalli Youngstrom

Leadership and Professions

Peta Bonham-Smith

Gail Hendry

Angela Hill

Wanda Hunchak

Karen Kobussen

Deb Labersweiler

Laura Plosz

Research and Technology

Donna Benneteau

Lalita Bharadwaj

Julia Montgomery

Under 29

Rachel Drew

Alisha Esmail

Devon Fiddler

Michelle Keene

Noura Sheikhalzoor

Jennifer Shewchuk

Alicia Soulier

Lifetime Achievement

Maureen Reed


The YWCA Women of Distinction Awards® are recognized nationally as one of the most prestigious awards for women. Since 1982, the awards have honoured hundreds of women for their inspirational leadership and extraordinary contributions to Saskatoon and area.

Sponsorship continues to be a vital part of the success of the 2016 PotashCorp YWCA Women of Distinction Awards. Through investment as the title sponsor of the Awards Dinner for many years, PotashCorp has been a longstanding supporter of local community programs for women and families who access services at the YWCA.

The final recipients are announced at the awards dinner on Thursday, May 26, 2016 at TCU Place. Tickets and tables can be purchased on Picatic or at or by phoning (306) 244-7034 x 121.

For more information about YWCA Saskatoon and the 2016 PotashCorp YWCA Women of Distinction Awards, contact:

Joy-Ann Allin

Director of Development and Communications,

YWCA Saskatoon

(306) 244-7034 extension 132